Maryland DUI/DWI Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
These Questions and Answers are Maryland specific and are for general information only. The answers here do not constitute legal advice and are no substitute for sitting down and reviewing your case with a Maryland lawyer.
What penalties am I facing?
In Maryland, you face two "prongs" of possible penalties: the administrative side and the court side. The administrative side deals with your license and the courts have the ability to punish you with a fine and/or jail. The penalties under each side vary depending on whether this is your first, second, or third (or more) DUI offense.
No attorney can guarantee whether or not a person will get jail. Anytime a person is charged with a crime that carries the possibility of jail time, a judge could decide to sentence someone to jail. Every person’s situation is unique. Common factors jail depends on: what county or city is the case in? Have you been charged with a DUI before? What does your driving record look like (even if no previous DUI charges)? Was there an accident or injury in your case? How seriously you take the current charge? For more information on this topic, click here.
If your test result was an alcohol concentration of 0.08 but less than 0.15, your suspension will be 180 days for a first offense and 180 days for a 2nd or subsequent offense.
If your test result was 0.15 or over, the suspension will be 180 days for a first offense and 180 days for a 2nd or subsequent offense.
If you refuse to submit to a test, the suspension will be 270 days for a first offense and 2 years for a 2nd or subsequent offense.