DUI First Offense in Maryland
Am I going to have to go to jail?
The maximum penalty for a DUI first offense in Maryland is up to 1 year in jail, a maximum $1,000 fine, or both.
How long will I be without my driver's license?
You have 10 days to guarantee a hearing with the MVA, and 30 days to request a hearing. This is why it is very important to speak with an attorney right away. An attorney can advise you on available defenses at the administrative hearing, and the possibility of securing limited driving privileges (for work, treatment) during a suspension period.
At court, if you are convicted (guilty finding, no probation before judgment granted) of a DUI offense, the MVA will suspend your license for 6 months.
Is an ignition interlock going to be required?
A recent change in Maryland DUI law is to require judges to give the interlock device - usually as a condition of probation - upon conviction for a DUI offense.
Once you have any type of DUI conviction on your record, you will be treated as a repeat offender if you are arrested for driving under the influence within the next five years. This five year period of time is referred to as a “look back” period. The penalties for a repeat offender, as you may imagine, get tougher.
Even if it is your first offense, you could spend time in jail, lose your driving privileges, and/or have hundreds of dollars in fines if you are convicted. Your job prospects could be diminished, your insurance could go up, and you may have travel or immigration consequences to name just a few consequences of a DUI conviction.
A Probation Before Judgment outcome is not guaranteed, even on a first offense DUI. Contact the Law Office of Andrew Hoverman, LLC today to discuss the facts of your case in a confidential consultation with a Maryland DUI Defense Lawyer.