Maryland Assault Lawyer
First Degree Assault
Found under the Maryland Criminal Code under § 3-202, First Degree Assault is a felony. It carries a maximum penalty of up to 25 years imprisonment upon conviction. First Degree Assault includes the elements of Second Degree Assault, plus the use of a weapon or the intent to cause serious physical injury.
Serious physical injury under Maryland law is defined as situation that presents a reasonable risk of death on the part of the alleged victim or results in serious injuries that disfigure the victim or impair some bodily function
Second Degree Assault
Found under the Maryland Criminal Code under § 3-203, Second Degree Assault is a misdemeanor. It carries a maximum penalty of up to 10 years imprisonment and/or a $2,500 fine upon conviction. Under the Maryland Second Degree Assault law, any unwanted physical contact can be considered assault, even if it does not ultimately cause injury.
If you’ve been accused of assault any other violent crime, you should speak an attorney at the Law Office of Andrew Hoverman, LLC immediately. Please call an experienced Maryland lawyer today at 202-540-0525.