Maryland Theft Amounts and Penalties

Theft Under $100

Is a misdemeanor in the state of Maryland.

Face up to 90 days imprisonment and/or a fine up to $500.

Restoration of the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property/services.

 

Theft Under $1,000

Is a misdemeanor in the state of Maryland

Face up to 18 months imprisonment and/or a fine up to $500.

Restoration of the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property/services.

 

Theft of at least $1,000 but less than $10,000

Is a felony in the state of Maryland. 

Face up to 10 years of imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

Restoration of the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property/services.

 

Theft of at least $10,000 but less than $100,000

Is a felony in the state of Maryland.

Face up to 15 years of imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $15,000.

Restoration of the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property/services.

 

Theft of $100,000 or more

Is a felony in the state of Maryland.

Face up to 25 years of imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $25,000.

Restoration of the property taken to the owner or pay the owner the value of the property/services.

If you find yourself facing an allegation of theft in Maryland, contact a Maryland criminal defense lawyer to go over the facts of your case and explore any possible defenses you may have before going to court.

© 2017 by the Law Office of Andrew Hoverman, LLC

Disclaimer: The information contained in this web site is intended to convey general information. It should not be construed as legal advice or opinion. It is not an offer to represent you, nor is it intended to create an attorney-client relationship. Any email sent via the Internet using email addresses listed in this web site would not be confidential and would not create an attorney-client relationship.

FOLLOW US:

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean