Second DUI in Maryland
The maximum penalty for a second DUI offense in Maryland is up to 2 years in jail, a maximum $2,000 fine, or both.
The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), on conviction of a DUI offense, can suspend your license for 1 year.
Once you have any type of DUI conviction on your record, you will be treated as a repeat offender if you are arrested for driving under the influence within five years of your last conviction. This five year period of time is referred to as a “look back” period. The penalties for a repeat offender get tougher.
With a second offense, you are more likely to spend time in jail, lose your driving privileges, and/or have hundreds of dollars in fines if you are convicted.
If you are facing a second DUI, it is very important you contact a Maryland DUI lawyer right away.